Henry Selick’s (& NG’s) Coraline

Standard

I want to mention that on this past Saturday I was fortunate to watch Coraline in Real3D at – oh – ten-ish. There is a lot I would say, but Joshua Starr says it with grace.

Under Henry Selick’s meticulous direction and with the aid of an excellent cast of voice actors2Neil Gaiman’s spare, precise novella is transformed into a beautifully intricate stop-motion spectacle that avoids slavish replication of the plot’s details while remaining largely faithful in tone and spirit to the book. Which is a good thing, of course, since Coraline the book felt like a classic from the moment it was released, and it wouldn’t be too much of a stretch to say that the film could become one, too.

2 responses »

  1. We read the graphic novel, my daughter and I, then saw the flick. During the whole movie she kept noticing parts that were in the book and parts that were not. It was fun. She enjoyed the comic adaptation better than the movie.

    When life slows down I’ll get around to writing about that.

  2. This movie sat well with me. I felt it was a bit long, and they could have spent more time on the adventure portion towards the end, but the more I think about it the more I love it. It felt like more of an experience than a viewing.

Leave a Reply

